Winter update 2013

I wondered where I’d put this little blog thing. I’ve dusted it off and I’m going to try and update it at least more than once a year. Maybe I’ll even write something that’s interesting! Don’t hold your breath, though. You might faint.

In my defence it’s been a busy year outside of work as my daughter, Lydia, was born in April and that’s been keeping me happily busy. But I did think I ought to get round to putting something on here for the three people who turn up every now and again.

I’ve had another round of monster hunting to keep me busy. If you’ve not heard it yet, series 2 is available in its entirety from themonsterhunters.com. We set ourselves a challenge this year, to give the show a strong arc and to develop the characters a bit. I hope we’ve succeeded in part of this. Our Halloween special is also available, and our Christmas special is out in the next few days.

I was also privileged to play one of the icons of British horror, and acting in general, when I played Peter Cushing in James Goss’s brilliant play The Gentlemen of Horror. Set in the dressing rooms of Cushing and Christopher Lee, it charts their friendship and careers from 1957, when they worked together on Curse of Frankenstein, up to the early ‘80s and their appearance in House of Long Shadows. Over that time, Christopher Lee’s career takes off, while Peter Cushing faces personal tragedy and potential obscurity.

It was a pleasure working with director Kate Webster, and my good friend Simon Kane (playing Lee). It’s a great challenge playing a real person, especially one as beloved as Peter Cushing, but I certainly enjoyed getting my teeth into it and doing some proper research (watching films counts as well) – did you know Cushing’s mum used to dress him as a girl? Oh, you did.

Anyway, enough of this. I can’t promise to update this too often, but certainly when there’s something worth telling you both. So keep your internet tuned here!

